SEASONAL AFFECTIVE DISORDER

Do you suffer from or know of someone who suffers from SAD (seasonal affective disorder)?  With all that is going on in the world concerning talks about the economic downturn, falling housing prices and high unemployment rate, it seems that this will be a tough and desperate winter for many families especially single parents who may go through a temporary bout of SAD.

It is one of my holiday wishes this year that those who need help during this time reach out for assistance because I know I am guilty of not being able to ask for help.  I am learning to realize that it’s ok to be vulnerable and accept compassion and empathy from others and not let foolish pride stand in the way.  For me, it was hard at first to admit that I can’t do it all but once I came to the understanding that asking for help is not a sign of weakness but of strength, then and only then was I able to OWN a true sense of awareness.

Now if only I can get my physical self to align with my inner observation.  I am trying to convince myself that I am not feeling SAD right now but that it’s my pregnancy hormones wreaking havoc on me.  Plus I have been having episodic insomnia which I am contributing to not being able to find a comfortable sleeping position.  With both these factors, it’s a wonder I am not feeling SAD!  Hopefully I will feel renewed again once I get a good night’s rest or at least a long extended daytime nap.  So tired today…keeping this (rambling) post short and sweet to catch up on some much needed sleep!

Leave a Reply

