THE GOLDEN RULE

Do you live by the Golden Rule?  As a parent, I try to teach my son to treat others how he would like to be treated.  He recently applied this principle when we came across an expensive electronic item left behind inside a shopping cart next to my car.

I was beaming with pride when he agreed that we should return the item to the store rather than keep it for ourselves.  Since times are tough right now, we easily could have exchanged or returned the item for store credit which would have helped with our holiday shopping budget.  However, in talking things over, my son understood that the right thing to do was to return the item to the store so that the person who purchased it had a better chance of getting it back.  To reward him for his honesty, I treated him to a yummy caramel frappuccino which put a smile on his face and made him happy…ah…the little things in life!  My son makes life as a single mom so easy with him being such a great kid!!

With the holiday season in full force, I wanted to share this story to remind others to live by the Golden Rule and OWN your integrity!

Leave a Reply

